South Western Counties Golf Association

South Western Counties Golf Association

Boys Under 16's and Under 14's Championship

Truro Golf Club

Friday 31st May 2019

This year's Championship, by rotation was hosted by Cornwall at Truro Golf Club.

The course was in excellent condition and the weather was very kind with little wind and although early on overcast, improved as the day progressed.

The Club Captain, Simon Bray, made everyone very welcome when he spoke at the prize-giving, as did all the Club staff.

TEAM TROPHY for the David King Salver:

With the format of seven out of nine scores counting, Somerset (pictured) won the trophy with the team of:-

Jackson Carey Dewi John Dylan John Bailey Langford Alex Marshall Joshua Owen Stanley Richardson  Harrison Selwyn Freddie Turnell with an aggregate of 519.

Devon were runners-up with an aggregate of 522

3rd Gloucestershire 523, were t 526, 4th Cornwall 540 5th Wiltshire 540 and 6th Dorset 548.


Under 14's Championship:

Freddie Turnell from Somerset won the Ray Lawford Trophy & Iceberg replica with a fine score of 71 Gross.

2nd Ashley Millington (Gloucestershire) 75 Gross  

3rd Toby Janes (Gloucestershire) 77 Gross  

The Nett Prizes went to:

Winner Alex Marshall (Somerset) 66 Nett   

Runner-Up Stanley White (Devon) 68 Nett       

3rd Noah Mulligan (Devon) 71 Nett

U16 Championship

The Winner with an excellent score of 69 Gross was Fred Bishop (Devon) who was presented with Eric Scott Cooper Cotswold Ram by Mr Brian Griffiths Past President of Cotswold Hills Golf Club who gave an excellent background to the origin of this highly original trophy.

Runner-Up Ben Reynolds (Devon) 70 Gross 

3rd Louis Ross (Gloucestershire) 70 Gross

The Nett Prize were won by Tom Bastow (Dorset) winning the Ian Clark Trophy with a fine score of 66 Nett.

Runner-Up Liam Wilson (Cornwall) 67

3rd Milan Reed (Gloucestershire) on 67.

Individual Scores

Team scores

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.