South Western Counties Golf Association

South Western Counties Golf Association

Under 16's'/Under 14's Championship


The 2021 SWCGA Under 16's/Under 14's Boys Championship was held at the delightful Mendip Spring Golf Club near Congresbury on the northwestern slope of the Mendip Hills in North Somerset on Friday 4th June.

A very warm, sunny day with little, or no, breeze greeted the fifty-four competitors and officials from Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Somerset and Wiltshire to compete in the first event since 2019 because of the Covid-19 pandemic.

The Competition was run under strictly controlled Covid regulations, so, although not as usual, the competitors thouroughly enjoyed their round of golf on a well manicured course in near perfect weather conditions.

The David King Salver was won by Gloucestershire with an outstsnding score of 536 to record a twenty-four stroke victory over nearest rivals Dorset.


1st Gloucestershire                        536

2nd Dorset                                      560

3rd Somerset                                  561

4th Wiltshire                                   563

5th Cornwall                                   596

6th Devon                                       603


The Under 14's Championship

The winner of the Ray Lawford Trophy & Iceberg replica was Jaxson Perry (Gloucestershire) with a fine score of 76 gross.

Winner Jaxson Perry          76

Runner-Up Ted Ballard       77 (Gloucestershire)

3rd    Aiden Knight              78 (Wiltshire)


The winner of the Ian Clark Trophy & iceberg replica was Ted Ballard representing Gloucestershire with a fine score of 66 Net

Runner-Up Troy Young    (Somerset)             69 Nett

3rd     Dominic Harrington (Dorset)      73 Nett on count-back from

4th      Jack Welch (Cornwall)                  73 Nett


The Under 16's Championship


The winner of the Eric Scott Cooper Ram Trophy & silver photo frame was won by Edmund Fry, representing Gloucestershire with an outstanding score of 67 Gross.


Winner        Edmund Fry (Gloucestershire)        67 Gross

Runner-Up   Freddie Turnell (Somerset)            71 Gross

3rd               Ashton Wylie Somerset)                  75 Gross


The winner of the Nett scores was Djibrael Ali (Gloucestershire)           69 Nett

Runner-Up was Thomas Miller (Cornwall)                                                       72 Nett on count-back from

Andy Su (Dorset)                                                                                                 72 Nett


Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.